“Rome with magic” turns out to be exactly the novel I wanted to read. The magic cleverly intertwines with religion, politics, and daily life. The characters appeal, especially the loving portrait of three loyal sisters. There are battles (of course), a budding love story of the illicit kind, some remarkably topical political maneuvering, an awareness of diverse layers of class and ethnicity, and a love of place that shines on the page.

Kate Elliott, author of Cold Magic and Black Wolves

The combination of history, dark and light magic, family, political and religious rivalry, and military conflicts will draw readers from many genres. Fans of I, Claudius and Game of Thrones are in for a treat.

ALA Booklist Starred Review

%d bloggers like this: